Traceback efforts have been initiated, but the FDA has not reported what food it is tracing.
Published:
The Food and Drug Administration is investigating a new outbreak of infections from Listeria monocytogenes.
The agency has not yet identified a source of the pathogen, but has confirmed 11 patients. However, the FDA is not revealing the patients’ ages or where they live.
Traceback efforts have been initiated, but the FDA has not reported what food it is tracing.
Meanwhile, The FDA and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention are continuing to investigate a multistate outbreak of E. coli O26:H11 infections linked to Sierra Nevada Graziers grass-fed raw milk cheese. The outbreak has sickened 13 patients across eight states from coast to coast. More than half of the patients are children younger than 5. Eight of the patients have required hospitalization and three have developed hemolytic uremic syndrome, which can cause kidney failure, brain damage and sometimes death.
State and local public health officials are interviewing ill people or their caregivers about the foods they ate in the week before they got sick. Of nine people interviewed, all nine in this outbreak reported consuming Sierra Nevada Graziers grass-fed raw milk cheese.
The company has initiated a recall for all of its raw milk cheese. The recalled Sierra Nevada Graziers grass-fed raw milk cheeses were distributed nationwide. They are sold in medium cheddar, sharp cheddar, jalapeño jack, and Monterey jack varieties in 8-ounce or 16-ounce packages and available to food service customers or wholesalers in 5-pound loaves.
This is not the company’s first problem with raw milk. In August 2025, California’s State Veterinarian ordered a statewide recall and quarantine of Sierra Nevada’s Bella Capra raw goat milk cheddar after California Department of Food and Agriculture testing found Listeria monocytogenes in the cheese.
In other outbreak news, the FDA continues to investigate 15 other outbreaks. Outbreaks with new information available since a week ago are as follows.
For an outbreak of E. coli O157:H7, the patient count has increased from 25 to 38. The FDA is not reporting the patients’ ages or where they live. The source of the pathogen is unknown. The agency has initiated sample collection but is not reporting what is being sampled. The outbreak was first reported on Sept. 23.
For an outbreak of Listeria monocytogenes from an unknown source, the patient count has increased from 40 to 44. As is its practice, the FDA has not released where the patients live or their ages. The agency has initiated traceback but is not reporting what food is being traced. The outbreak was first reported on Sept. 23.
For an outbreak of Listeria infections, the patient count has increased to 11, up from 10 a week ago. The patients’ ages or states of residence have not been revealed. The FDA has initiated traceback but has not revealed what food issuing traced. The agency has also begun onsite inspections and sample collection but is not reporting what locations are being inspected or what is being samples. The outbreak was first reported on July 22.
Coral Beach
Managing Editor Coral Beach is a print journalist with more than 35 years experience as a reporter and editor for daily newspapers, trade publications and freelance clients including the Kansas City Star and Independence Examiner.
Your Support Protects Public Health
Food Safety News is nonprofit and reader-funded. Your TAX-FREE gift ensures ongoing coverage of outbreaks, recalls, and regulations for everyone.

